Java Platforms / Editions

Here are mainly 4 types of platforms or editions in java.

  1. Java SE (Java Standard Edition)
  2. Java EE (Java Enterprise Edition)
  3. Java ME (Java Micro Edition)
  4. Java FX

1) Java SE (Java Standard Edition)

  • It is a java programming platform and mainly includes the Java programming API’s such as java.lang,,, java.util, java.sql, java.math etc.
  • It also includes the core topics like OOP’s String, Regex, Exception, Inner classes, Multithreading, I/O Stream, Networking, AWT, Swing, Reflection, Collection, etc.

2) Java EE (Java Enterprise Edition)

  • This type of platform is mainly used to develop web applications and enterprise applications.
  • It was built on the top of the Java SE platform.
  • It includes topics like Servlet, JSP, Web Services, EJB, JPA etc.

3) Java ME (Java Micro Edition)

  • It is a micro platform used to develop mobile applications and directly belong to it.

4) Java FX

  • It is used to develop rich internet applications and uses a lightweight user interface API.